HomeUncategorizedNick Cave to Score Amy Winehouse Biopic Back to Black

Nick Cave to Score Amy Winehouse Biopic Back to Black

Nick Cave and his longtime collaborator Warren Ellis have teamed up to score the forthcoming Amy Winehouse biopic Back to Black.

Cave and Ellis composed “about 20-30 minutes” of music for the film’s score. Additionally, Cave has contributed a new song called “Song for Amy” that will appear on the soundtrack.

“Nick and Warren were the only musicians in my mind to score Back to Black,” said director Sam Taylor-Johnson in a statement. “Over the years I’ve listened to everything they’ve composed and longed to realize the dream of working together.  Their sensibility as well as understanding of this story has led to a profoundly deep and moving film score.”

The soundtrack also includes six songs from Winehouse, as well a five songs from artists who inspired her, including Billie Holliday and The Shangri-Las. It will be released on May 17th.

Cave and Ellis most recently composed the soundtrack to Netflix’s Marilyn Monroe biopic Blonde after previously creating soundtracks for film and TV productions like The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert FordThe Road, and DAHMER – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story. In 2021, they released the collaborative album Carnage. They also recently announced a new album as The Bad Seeds, Wild God, which will be released on August 30th.

Back to Black was directed by Taylor-Johnson (Nowhere Boy) from a script penned by Matt Greenhalgh. Starring Marisa Abela, the film chronicles the singer’s early years as a jazz musician in North London and her turbulent journey to fame.

The cast is rounded out by Jack O’Connell as Winehouse’s husband, Blake Fielder-Civil; Eddie Marsan as Winehouse’s father, Mitch; and Lesley Manville as her grandmother, Cynthia. The biopic will feature Abela performing many of the late artist’s hits thanks to the full support of Winehouse’s estate.

Revisit the first trailer for Back to Black. It premieres in the UK on April 12th, followed by a US release on May 17th.

Back To Black (Songs From the Original Motion Picture) Artwork:

Amy Winehouse soundtrack

Back To Black (Songs From the Original Motion Picture) Tracklist:
01. Amy Winehouse – What Is It About Men
02. Amy Winehouse – Stronger Than Me
03. Amy Winehouse – Know You Now
04. The Shangri-Las – Leader Of The Pack
05. Billie Holiday – All Of Me
06. Amy Winehouse – Back To Black
07. Minnie Riperton – Les Fleurs
08. Dinah Washington – Mad About The Boy
09. Amy Winehouse – Love Is A Losing Game
10. Sarah Vaughan featuring Clifford Brown – Embraceable You
11. Amy Winehouse – Tears Dry on Their Own
12. Nick Cave – Song For Amy

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments