HomeaflKacey Musgraves Announces New Album Deeper Well

Kacey Musgraves Announces New Album Deeper Well

Kacey Musgraves is back on the saddle again.

After teasing a new album at the 2024 Grammys last weekend, the country star has announced her sixth studio album, Deeper Well, set for release on March 15th via Interscope/MCA Nashville. She’s also shared the album’s title track and first single; stream the song below.

Deeper Well is Kacey Musgraves’ first new album since 2021’s star-crossed, and was predominately recorded at New York City’s famed Electric Lady Studios with previous collaborators Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk. “I was seeking some different environmental energy, and Electric Lady has the best mojo. Great ghosts,” Musgraves said in a press release.

She continued, saying “It’s ironic that the more woods-y side of me came out in New York City. I wasn’t making this record alone in a cabin in the forest. We were in one of the most crowded cities on the planet, yet, we’d dive into the songs or climb out on the balcony of the studio – and there’d be all this space. No matter what I’m making, I’m always chasing open space.”

“Open space” is definitely an appropriate descriptor of “Deeper Well,” the album’s warm, evocative title track. Musgraves immediately describes the freeing emotions of her Saturn return — an astrological catalyst for significant personal change — and reflects on the ways she’s transformed over the last few years. She’s kicked the weed habit, cut out toxic people from her life, and finds herself sitting in gratitude. At the end of each refrain, she tells us why these changes occurred: “I found a deeper well.”

Deeper Well is Kacey Musgraves’ first album in three years, but she hasn’t stayed quiet since star-crossed’s release. She scored her first Billboard Hot 100 #1 hit in 2023 for her duet with Zach Bryan, “I Remember Everything,” which just won Best Country Song by a Duo or Group at the 2024 Grammys. Continuing on her “woodsy” streak, Musgraves also guested on a re-release of Noah Kahan’s track “She Calls Me Back” last fall. She began 2024 by lending her voice to a cover of “Three Little Birds” for the soundtrack of the upcoming Bob Marley biopic, Bob Marley: One Love.

Deeper Well Artwork:

Kacey Musgraves Deeper Well Album Artwork

Kacey Musgraves’ Deeper Well Album Artwork

Deeper Well Tracklist:

01. Cardinal
02. Deeper Well
03. Too Good to be True
04. Moving Out
05. Giver / Taker
06. Sway
07. Dinner with Friends
08. Heart of the Woods
09. Jade Green
10. The Architect
11. Lonely Millionaire
12. Heaven Is
13. Anime Eyes
14. Nothing to be Scared Of




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments